Special Education

Welcome to Madison School District 321’s Special Educational Programs. The Madison School District serves more than 500 students with disabilities and special needs in a wide variety of programs.


Students are referred to Special Education after general education interventions have been exhausted. A building level Child Assistance Team (CAT) will try Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS), differentiated instruction, and modifications to appropriate curriculum in the student’s general education classroom. If data shows that such interventions are not sufficient, the school's Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) will consider whether a referral for special education is appropriate.


If it is determined that a referral considering special education is appropriate for your child, an evaluation team -- consisting of parents, students, teachers, administrators, related service personnel, and other relevant staff -- determines whether or not the child is a person with a disability and whether or not the child meets state and federal eligibility for Special Education under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). For qualifying students an Individual Education Program (IEP) is developed to include accommodations and modifications necessary to ensure the child receives an appropriate education.


Special Education serves students ages 3-21. The IEP Team makes all placements in Special Education. If you feel that your child may qualify for special education services, please notify the teachers or administrators at your child's school.

Schwab


Travis Schwab
Director of Special Services
and Federal Programs
208-359-3315 ext. 3621
schwabt@msd321.com

 

Hanosky


Kathy Hanosky
Administrative Assistant
208-359-3315 ext. 3620
hanoskyk@msd321.com

 

Cameron


Loretta Cameron
Administrative Assistant
208-359-3315 ext. 3631
cameronl@msd321.com

 

Sakota


Wendy Sakota
Consulting Teacher
208-359-3320 ext. 6318
sakotaw@msd321.com

 

Gee


Melinda Gee
School Psychologist
208-359-3315 ext. 3629
geem@msd321.com

 

Beattie


Josh Beattie
School Psychologist
208-359-3315 ext. 3627
beattiej@msd321.com

 

Creer


Brandon Creer
School Psychologist
208-359-3315 ext. 3653
creerb@msd321.com